Tuesday, 30 June 2009

Worldwide Short Film Festival 2009 - Awards

It's funny how time just kind slides away from you...The 2009 Worldwide Short Film Festival wrapped up 8 days ago and had their awards out before I even posted my first set of reviews.

Here's a quick round-up of the winners:

Audience Award
"Paul Rondin Is... Paul Rondin / Paul Rondin est... Paul Rondin" - directed by Frederick Vin

Best Live Action Short
Winner: "My Name is Dominic / Tous les enfants s'appellent Dominique" - directed by Nicolas Silhol
Honourable Mention: "Sand / Zand" - directed by Joost Van Ginkel

Best Emerging Canadian Filmmaker
Winner: Aparna Kapur for "Amma"
Honourable Mention: Joseph Johnson Cami & Ayelen Liberona for "Becoming"

Best Cinematography in a Canadian Short
Winner: Miroslaw Baszak for "The Water"
Honourable Mention: Pedro Pires for "Danse Macabre"

Best Animated Short
"Slaves" - directed by Hanna Heilborn and David Aronowitsch

Best Canadian Short
"Land of Men / Terre des hommes" - directed by Ky Nam Le Duc

The Best Experimental Short
Winner: "Danse Macabre" - directed by Pedro Pires
Honourable Mention: "Inscape" - directed by Servane Phillips and Nathalie Robison

Best Documentary Short
"Skin" - directed by Rhys Graham

Best Performance (Female)
Leora Rivlin for "Wind Chimes"

Best Performance (Male)
Jack Wouterse for "Sand / Zand"

Best Performance (Ensemble)
Kil-ho Kim & Tae-hoon Lee for "Auld Lang Syne"

Screenplay Giveaway Prize
Kate Hewlett for "She Said Lenny"

No comments: